Stay InformedFind Help!
2009 Gala PDF Print E-mail
Hispanic Federation Hosts "Taking Hispanic Causes to Heart" Gala
On Thursday, May 7th the Hispanic Federation (HF) hosted its 2009 Annual Gala Taking Hispanic Causes to Heart at the Grand Ballroom of the Waldorf=Astoria Hotel in New York City.  A who’s who of elected and government officials, business executives, community leaders and noted celebrities gathered to support the Federation’s work and to celebrate the accomplishments of a distinguished list of honorees.

Les Goodstein, Senior Vice President at News Corporation, received the Leadership Award.  José Zambrano L., Chairman of the Board of Zuma Holding, received the “Premio Orgullo” (Pride Award).  Kyle E. McSlarrow, President and CEO of National Cable and Telecommunications Association, received the Legacy Award.  The Violence Intervention Program accepted the Community Service Award.  Multiplatinum Venezuelan recording artist Huascar Barradas also performed during the event.

“Our annual gala is very special because it allows the Federation and its network of agencies the opportunity to thank and shine a spotlight on individuals and institutions taking Hispanic causes to heart,” said Lillian Rodriguez Lopez, President of the Hispanic Federation. “We are so incredibly touched that in these difficult economic times our gala honorees and sponsors made it a point to stand with us tonight and allow us to continue our important work.

The proceeds from the annual gala support the Federation’s programs and services, which are geared towards strengthening Hispanic families and a network of nearly 100 Latino nonprofits.

Governor Paterson and Mayor Bloomberg delivered remarks during the gala.  Also attending the event were NYS Comptroller Thomas DiNapoli, NYC Comptroller William Thompson, Secretary of State Lorraine Cortés-Vázquez, Borough President Ruben Diaz, Jr., Manhattan Borough President Scott Stringer, Assembly members Adam Clayton Powell IV, Adriano Espaillat, Catherine Nolan, Phil Ramos and Peter Rivera, State Senator Kevin Parker, Council members Maria del Carmen Arroyo, Leroy Comrie, Jr., Julissa Ferreras, Eric Goia, Miguel Martinez, Annabel Palma, Helen Sears, Melissa Mark Viverito, David Weprin and David Yassky, and New York City Police Commissioner Raymond Kelly, among others.

“I am deeply moved by the recognition bestowed on me tonight, especially because it comes from an institution whose work is fundamentally aligned with Zuma Holding’s vision of giving voice, opportunity and access to the disadvantaged and marginalized,” said Jose Zambrano L., Chairman of the Board of Zuma Holding.

It is a privilege to be honored and associated with an organization that is leading the way in addressing the needs of Latino organizations and our community overall. The Hispanic Federation provides us support to continue working to protect Latinas and improve the lives of our families, said Cecilia Gaston, Executive Director of the Violence Intervention Program.

The Leadership Award honors those individuals and companies who have shown extraordinary support TO the Latino community. The Premio Orgullo (Pride Award) honors Latinos who have shown an unwavering dedication to their community. The Legacy Award pays tribute to those whose accomplishments in the business and philanthropic worlds establish them as prominent leaders in these areas. The Community Service Award honors HF member agencies whose board, staff and administration work tirelessly to improve the lives of Latinos in the Northeast. 

2009 Gala Honorees

Leadership Award
Les Goodstein
Senior Vice President
News Corporation

Legacy Award

Kyle E. McSlarrow
President & CEO
National Cable & Telecommunications Association
 Premio Orgullo
Jose Zambrano L.
Chairman of the Board
Zuma Holding
Community Service Award

 Gala Co-Chairs:






For more information, please contact the Hispanic Federation at 212.233.8955.

SearchSite MapPrivacy StatementContact UsStay Informed